Book Review: Simon Vs. The Homo Sepians Agenda. By Becky Albertalli.

Synopsis (As is on Good reads): 

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!!!!

Review:  I read this book after I read The Upside Of Unrequited. Everyone on booktube and bookstagram (yes, they really are a thing!) has been raving about how awesome this book is. I don’t usually jump on the bandwagon. Even if I do it’s always years and years down the line (Harry Potter being an obvious example). Anyway, I jumped on this Simon bandwagon, not only that, I was steering the thing! Haha. This book was so cute. Again, important too! 

Simon is this 17 year old boy that is gay and he has this blossoming friendship with a person he has never met. They email back and forth – these emails are ridiculously funny at times. The story goes on from there. I shall not give you any more information because you need to read it!!

 I usually do not become attached to a character. I did with Simon. I loved Simon. He is all that is pure and perfect with this world. Yes, obviously he is flawed but that’s what makes him great. I remember getting to a point where something was happening in the book that I didn’t like. So much so that I wanted to throw the book across the room! Haha. That’s how much love I had for Simon! Although, both of Albertalli’s books had a similar premise; they were also different at the same time. 

I wouldn’t mind if there was a sequel to this story. I would definitely love to see more adventures from Simon and his friends. Maybe even a story where both books meet! 

Simon Vs was a great read. So much so, it’s been turned into a film! I cannot wait until it airs! I highly recommend giving this a read if you want to smile, laugh and cry. Sometimes all at the same time haha. 

Until next time guys… 🙂

Leave a Reply

