Flame In The Mist by Renee Ahdieh. A Review. 

Helllllo guys!!!

 I’ve been away for too long I know! I feel like I keep getting back into a reading slump for some reason (I’m sure it’s something to do with ACOWAR’s release date looming!) So I haven’t being reading as much as I’d like to. So far this year I’ve read 10 books, my ideal amount would have been 16 (averaging 4 a month). Oh well! 

Let’s get into this review!! 

4/5 stars from me

Synopsis as in on Google Books: Mariko has always known that being a woman means she’s not in control of her own fate. But Mariko is the daughter of a prominent samurai and a cunning alchemist in her own right, and she refuses to be ignored. When she is ambushed by a group of bandits known as the Black Clan enroute to a political marriage to Minamoto Raiden – the emperor’s son – Mariko realises she has two choices: she can wait to be rescued… or she can take matters into her own hands, hunt down the clan and find the person who wants her dead.

Disguising herself as a peasant boy, Mariko infiltrates the Black Clan’s hideout and befriends their leader, the rebel ronin Ranmaru, and his second-in-command, Okami. Ranmaru and Okami warm to Mariko, impressed by her intellect and ingenuity. But as Mariko gets closer to the Black Clan, she uncovers a dark history of secrets that will force her to question everything she’s ever known.

My review: So this is my first book by this author Renee Ahdieh. I know she’s famous for her other series The Wrath and the Dawn. Which is a retelling of A Thousand And One Nights. I’ve not read this series. I didn’t have any interest for it, before Flame In The Mist. 

As soon as I had heard that there was a Mulan Retelling, I was so excited! I just had to get my hands on this book! As it isn’t out until the 18th May, I requested it from NetGalley and I was approved so thank you to them! 

I was not disappointed. This book was amazing, descriptive and full of Japanese folklore, magic and metaphors. Mariko was really relatable as it reminded me of my younger years. I, too was stubborn and sharp tongued! What I was surprised about is actually liking the co protagonist too! Okami, he was the possible love interest to Mariko but I was finding myself intrigued my his character and his actions! I wouldn’t mind reading a book just based on his history. 

There were many protagonists in this book but not so many that it was confusing to follow. They had a few paragraphs each. It was nice to dip in and out of their stories. The only thing that sorely disappointed me was finding out it was a series! I actually audibly sighed when I finished reading it! How is it I’m going to have to wait a year or so for the next installment?! Argh! 

That’s the thing with authors who captivate you with their stories. They pull you in and you try to get out. You try to act like you don’t care that there isn’t a satisfying conclusion but you do care!!! Excuse me whilst I cry into my pillow in frustration haha. 

All in all the book was great to read. It was nice to have a retelling of a story that doesn’t get spoken about as much as the other Disney fairytales. Mulan is my favourite and always will be. The author did this story justice. 

Ps: The cover is beautiful. Who would have thought that throwing stars fashioned into flowers could look so pretty! 

Leave a Reply

