Lady Chatterly’s Lover. Book and Film adaptation, a comparison. 

Good evening all! Hope you’re all doing well and you enjoyed your bank holiday weekend like I did! Granted, I didn’t get much reading done but I did get lots of relaxing done! 

One of the things I did do was watch lots of films during my time off. One of them was Lady Chatterly’s Lover. I watched this out of pure curiosity since I love this book so much. The book was written by DH Lawrence

The book was quite salacious for its time and was even banned. That’s one of the reasons why I love it. I read it after reading 50 Shades Of Grey. I was in dire need to read actual literature after that! Haha. This is just what I did. It was such a good book. Not only because it was saucy. I also liked the subtext of the mining problems of the time and industrialisation as they occurred. Also there were some slight nods to Marxism in the book. 

Now we all know the old adage, the book is better than the film but what if the film captures something the book couldn’t? For me this was the case for Lady Chatterly. In the book, I didn’t like her much. She didn’t seem nice and came across as quite selfish and subdued (obviously this may not be the case. This is only how I perceived it.). Connie was played by Holliday Grainger. She captured her beautifully. It actually made me feel for her and the situation she’s in during the film. I think it helps that this is a BBC adaptation and there is no one that can do classic adaptations better than the BBC (Obviously opinions may vary. These are just my own.) 

Oliver Mellors was played by the actor Richard Madden, of Rob Stark (Game Of Thrones) fame. He played Mellors well too. I actually believed in the chemistry that Grainger and Madden had. 

Although it’s always going to be the case for me, the book was better than the film. The film though, came pretty close! The only other time this has happened to me was the Hunger Games Series. Again, this was a good adaptation. 

The book always wins! 

This is short and sweet but I wanted to get a conversation going about book adaptations! 

Leave a Reply

