I’m Still Here by Clelie Avit. A review. 

Hi guys! 

Hope you’re all enjoying your Easter weekend! I’m in the midst of a four day weekend, I am sooo happy about this! Imagine all the reading I will do! Haha. 

So I thought I’d review this book I have been reading the last couple of days. This book was sent to me by the publisher after I requested it. Thank you to Hodder and Stoughton publishers. I was entirely enthralled! Here is the synopsis of the book: 

As is on Google books:

Elsa has been in a coma for five months. With all hope of reviving her gone, her family must face the devastating fact that it might be time to turn off her life support.

What they don’t know is that in the past few weeks Elsa has regained partial consciousness – she just has no way of telling them.

Thibault is in the same hospital visiting his brother and, seeking a retreat, finds his way into Elsa’s room. When he begins to talk to her, he doesn’t realise she can hear every word – and that he is giving her a reason to wake up.

And so begins a love story that might just save both their lives…

5 out of 5 stars. 

Where do I begin with this one? With only just over 200 pages, this book is emotionally fueled. Full to bursting with all sorts of emotional turmoil. 

This is Clelie Avit‘s first novel in English. I pray it isn’t her last. Otherwise I’m learning French!! The characters were so beautifully written. 

Thibault is a perfectly imperfect man who wanted to love and be loved. And I loved him for it! Elsa was heartbreaking to read at times because you knew she was in a coma. Although she felt like a friend you cared for. 

This book almost feels fantastical in its story telling because how can two people fall in love without a word spoken to each other? Well, Avit makes you feel like anything is possible. She made me feel hopeful! That’s very rare in books that are so short but she manages it with such care and attention to detail. 

The writing was so beautiful and almost poetic in its deliverance. I couldn’t help but feel engrossed in the story. I felt like I was there whilst it was happening. I couldn’t recommend this book enough! It’s already out in hardback! The paperback is coming out on May 4th! Get reading people! If you’re a fan of JoJo Moyes but prefer a happier ending, then this is your book!

Leave a Reply

