P.S. From Paris by Marc Levy. A review: 

Hello all!! 

How’s your weekend going? I’ve just finished the book I am about to review. I thought I would do it as soon as I finished so it was fresh in my mind! 

I requested this book from Netgalley and I was approved to read. So thank you! 

This book is PS From Paris by Marc Levy. This is his 17th (?) book. As described on the internet, he is the most read French author alive today. And now I understand why. I go on to explain after the synopsis. 

The novel is out on the 1st September 2017.  

Here is the synopsis for this novel as is on Google Books: 

On the big screen, Mia plays a woman in love. But in real life, she’s an actress in need of a break from her real-life philandering husband—the megastar who plays her romantic interest in the movies. So she heads across the English Channel to hide in Paris behind a new haircut, fake eyeglasses, and a waitressing job at her best friend’s restaurant.

Paul is an American author hoping to recapture the fame of his first novel. When his best friend surreptitiously sets him up with Mia through a dating website, Paul and Mia’s relationship status is “complicated.”

Even though everything about Paris seems to be nudging them together, the two lonely ex-pats resist, concocting increasingly far-fetched strategies to stay “just friends.” A feat easier said than done, as fate has other plans in store. Is true love waiting for them in a postscript?

It’s 4.75/ 5 stars. 

This book was just amazing.  I’m an absolute sucker for a romance story. Especially if they take place in Paris. Sometimes the problem with this type of story can be that its a little cliche and cheesy. 

This story was definitely not!! First of all, it’s a story about a novelist and a film actress, they both quote books and authors. That was really enticing for me! Haha. 

Secondly, there wasn’t just one protagonist, it had co-protagonists. The story flowed so well that the change of characters (every other paragraph or so) was seamless. Although this may be my bias because I loved them from the beginning. 

Thirdly, the story was so funny at times and had me gasping at other times. I found myself actually rooting for these characters to get together! Mia and Paul are so sweet and funny and smart.

The writing was great, I loved that both characters had the weirdest quirks. Including one where they both mutter under their breath. This made for some excellent and comical situations. 

And the writing within the writing? So romantic. It was a sweeping kind of romance that you really don’t get often anymore unless you’re reading Nicholas Sparks novels. But sometimes, those can get tiring! (There is only so much death a girl can endure! Haha) So this book to me was such a breath of fresh air!!

I liked that the characters were fully rounded individuals. They seemed to all fit together. Even Daisy, the best friend and Mustache the restaurant owner, Arthur and  Lauren, the other best friends; were a joy to read. 

I literally cannot express how wonderful this book is without spoiling it. It’s perfect as a cozy read with funny and serious elements. I think when the book comes out it is perfectly timed! The autumn would just be starting and the leaves start fallling…it’s great and sooo romantic.  

I am definitely now  a fan of Marc Levy and although this was my first book by him. It’ll definitely not be my last! 

Leave a Reply

