Book Series. How I feel about them.

Happy Tuesday everyone, hope you’re all well. The weather yesterday was absolutely lovely. Shame I cannot say the same about today.

Today I thought I would talk about how I feel about book series. My first venture into the world of series was The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. This brought a thirst for these kinds of books for me.  So from then on, all I seemed to read was trilogies. I devoured the Divergent Series by Veronica Roth and the Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver. They are Young Adult novels I know. However, they both have strong female protagonists. I feel like this is more of a common theme amongst Young Adult. It is great for women empowerment everywhere.

However, I feel like I had my fill of them after years and years of reading these types of books so I yearned for single books. This is what I concentrated on last year. I wanted an ending within 400 – 500 pages; I didn’t want to have to wait for ages before a new part of a series came out. As I don’t re read the books, this can be hard to get back into a year after reading the first book. This happened to me with a couple of series. The Crossfire Series by Sylvia day, originally a trilogy – was made into a five book series. I stopped after the third one. I did not want to wait for 5 years to finish a series!  This also happened with the Waterfall series by Lauren Kate; I bought it as soon as it came out, and then had to wait over a year for the next one! I loved her Fallen series. This may be because by the time I was reading them, all four books were already out.

So after a year of reading books that were stand alone, I got bored. As one could imagine, reading as much as I do. This year I made a new year’s resolution to read more books. More series again, so I have started with Victoria Schwab’s This Savage Song, the second book comes out this year. The same is for Alys Arden’s The Casquette Girls (My favourite!). The Romeo Catchers is out in May this year.  I am currently reading and falling in love with the A Court of Thorns And Roses series by Sarah J Maas. I seem to dip in and out with series. I have currently dipped in head first to quite a few series! Haha

I guess what I am saying is that I have phases where I could read one type of book until I have had my fill of them. How do you feel about book series and trilogies? This post is a bit random but I felt like writing about my feelings for these types of books since I have started reading them again.

Leave a Reply

