Books that changed my life. 

Hello! Happy Saturday to you guys, hope you’re having a good day. Today I thought I would talk about books that changed my life. Whether it was a small change or a significant one. I have books that I can attribute that change to. 

So the first one I would mention is of course, Catcher In The Rye by JD Salinger. I was 15 when I read this book. It made me think more deeply and to read between the lines. It made me read differently. This also helped me sort through some feelings I was going through during that time. I totally related to Holden Caulfield. 

The second book is 1984 By George Orwell. I wanted to read this book since I read Animal Farm in school, I managed to read it a few years ago. It is now one of my favourite books! It is where I discovered what a dystopian world is and  my love for dystopian novels. This is where it all began. 

The third book is Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath. This book was an eye opener for me. I felt like I was reading about Sylvia herself and I just felt so sad for her. To this day, if things get difficult for me I repeat “I am, I am, I am” in rememberence of this book. It helps in all sorts of ways. It reminds me to take a breath. A pause. Then carry on. This book was also bought for me by my uncle in Greece. He introduced me to Sylvia.  

The fourth book might not be a great book but it changed me so significantly. It is Me Before You by JoJo Moyes. This is about a quadriplegic  man who is faced with the choice of living a life with minimal movement or have assistance in moving on. When it came to assisted dying. I was against it. I was brought up to believe that only God can make that kind of choice. This book, made me look at it so differently. I actually emphasised with the character. I understood his plight. So my opinion is now completely different because of this book. 

The fifth book that I would say that changed my reading life would be Thanks For The Memories by Cecelia Ahern. Cheesy I know, but I loved this book. It came free with a magazine and I devoured it. I discovered what magical realism in books could be. It is also the reason Cecelia Ahern is one of my favourite authors. I read everything she comes out with. The woman can do no wrong. Haha. 

The final book is more of a series. It’s Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I bought this trilogy when it was on sale on Amazon. It was £6 for all three because the outer cover that came with them was missing. I had them a while before I read them, they didn’t interest me initially. I had not read a series before this book. This is how I discovered that cliffhangers existed in books. They were also the first books that I was completely satisfied with the ending. It ended as I had wanted it to. Also, this is the reason I have so much love for trilogies and fantasy books. Also my unashamed love for Young Adult fiction. 

Hope you enjoyed my list! Tell me yours! 

Leave a Reply

