A Court Of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas Review

Hello guys, how is your week going? I am well aware it is still only Tuesday. However some of us have days off in the week (me) so today is my Saturday!

I am going to attempt to review this book for you as impartially and as fairly as possible. I am not sure I can…..I have totally and irrevocably fallen in love with this book! Apparently its not even the best one out of this trilogy! I have already purchased the sequel A Court of Mist and Fury. 

Here is a short synopsis: This is a vague retelling of Beauty and The Beast. This woman called Faery (Pronounced Fay-Ruh) who lives at home with her two sisters and her father. She is the sole bread winner for her household. She goes out hunting in order to snare animals they can eat in the week. One fateful day, she kills a wolf… She does not realise the implications of killing said wolf. She is then visited by a High Fae (wolf) who takes her into his manor as she had to give her life for killing the wolf. All sorts of things ensue.

Review 4.5/5 stars.

As you can tell, I loved this book, it was been ages since I fell head straight into a book like I have done with this one. I have been steering clear from reading series’ for a while as I didn’t have the commitment.

The truth is, as much as I love the story of Beauty and the Beast, I wasn’t sure how I would feel about this retelling, especially since it has low fantasy and magical realism elements which is completely different to the original story. 

I was also weary, as there were so many people that have hyped up the series. I always worry that books may fall short because I had such high hopes for them. A lot of people also advised me that this first book is a lot slower than the second book.

I started reading this book and almost couldn’t put it down (unfortunately life and work got in the way). The way it was written was amazing. I like its simplistic style but at the same time, it is so intricate and so descriptive. It was easy to follow. I immediately fell in love Faery and then subsequently, Tamlin. I would go as far as to say that he is my ‘book boyfriend’ – to the dismay of my actual real life boyfriend. (Hi Chris! *waves*) Haha.

Even characters such as Rhysand and Lucien caught my attention – the description of them had my head swirling in all sorts of colours. (This may make more sense if you read the books.) Also, I think Lucien and I could truly be friends. His long luscious red hair alone could bring about a great friendship!

So Sarah J Maas, you have my heart fully and unabashedly… I cannot wait to start ACOMAF 


After that, I will wait for the gargantuan book (Over 700 pages!!), that will be the last in the trilogy (weeps) A Court Of Wings and Ruin.

How do you feel about Sarah J Maas Books? Please feel free to like and comment.

 

Leave a Reply

