5 Least Favourite Books:

Hello people!! Hope you are having a lovely Saturday!

I thought I would write about something that is quite controversial today, in the world of books. As a book lover, I should love all books right? Wrong! The great thing about reading is that you read to expand your mind and not always in a good way. So there are five books I do not like. These are my own opinions and I obviously do not mean offence, so if you like any of these books please feel free to comment and tell me why.

Here we go:

  1. The Next Together by Lauren James – My preferred genres for books are usually sci-fi, fantasy or magical realism. This book was sci-fi, it was about a couple who are meant to be together as they make scientific discoveries that could change the world. They are constantly reincarnated and always meet and fall in love. They have different chapters, which tell of their reincarnations of the characters, in different time periods. This is as confusing as it sounds and is also the first part of a series. I didn’t like the book because the characters weren’t likable. The different time periods, to me seemed irrelevant and this was heavily plot based with not much character development.
  2. The Girl Who Saved The King Of Sweden by Jonas Jonasson – This book is from the writer of The 100 year old man who climbed out of the window and disappeared. The premise of the book is about a girl who lives in Africa, she is impoverished and its about her journey from Africa to Sweden. The adventures that she goes and the people she meets. I absolutely loved Jonasson’s first book so I assumed this wouldn’t be any different. Alas, it was, the story line was more or less the same as the first one. They both have fantastical elements to it and stories that are just too crazy, they could be true. As it was too similar to the first one, I decided to DNF (Did not finish) the book. It was a hard decision but i just couldn’t do it any longer!
  3. The Shock Of The Fall by Nathan Filer – This is about man that is dealing with the death of his mentally ill brother and all the implications after his death. I read it a while ago because it had critical acclaim, I was in the mood to read all sorts of books back then. Especially ones that were recommended by the Man Booker Prize. I didn’t feel the sympathy or empathy I should have felt for this book, again the protagonist wasn’t likable and when I finished the book I couldn’t remember anything about it.
  4. The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson – I love reading Young Adult novels, I am not ashamed of it. Although again, most is fantasy, sci-fi or magical realism based. However, once in a while I like a good contemporary. A good contemporary, this was not. Its about a girl who is dealing with the death of her older sister. In the process, she gets involved with her sisters fiancee and another boy who shares her love of music. It is as angst-y and as whiny as it sounds. I didn’t like the portrayal of the characters and didn’t like the story line. However, the other book she wrote I’ll Give You The Sun was an amazing book. An amazing portrayal of these twins that were dealing with the aftermath of their mother’s death.
  5. First Last Kiss by Ali Harris – This story is about a woman who is in a relationship with a man. They are struck with tragedy when he gets sick. I picked up this book thinking it would be similar to Me before you by JoJo Moyes. This was recommended by Amazon. Again, I didn’t like the protagonist. She was annoying and selfish and a little two dimensional. I don’t think the characters were portrayed as well as they could have been.

These are not all of my least favourite books of all time but I thought I would give you a snippet of what and why I disliked the books. Otherwise we would be here for days…..

Please do feel free to comment and let me know what you think and what your least favourites are!

 

 

Leave a Reply

