February Book Haul

Hello! Hope you have had a great month! I love how short February is, especially after it seemed like years went by in January! 

This month I may have accrued a few too many books. I have in total purchased 12! 10 of which I’ll picture in this post. 2 are still on their way but since they were bought in February. They count! 

Now, February and March seem to be amazing months for book releases. I get so enthralled by all of the new releases that I may overspend sometimes (boyfriend might say otherwise). 

So here are the books in list form: 

  • Tale as old as time – Liz Braswell
  • By your side – Kasie West
  • Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella
  • The Jane Austen book club – Karen Joy Fowler
  • Hystopia- David Means
  • Neverwhere – Neil Gaiman
  • Hold Back The Stars – Katie Khan
  • Empress of a thousand skies – Rhoda Belleza
  • War and peace – Leo Tolstoy
  • Caraval – Stephanie Garber
  • A court of thorns and roses – Sarah J Maas
  • Throne of glass – Sarah J Maas

Now I’ve actually only read one book on this list. It’s been a terrible month for reading. I read Finding Audrey and one other book that’s not listed. Now I’m not sure if it was me or the books but I just couldn’t get into them. 

I’m in a slump. A terrible slump. I’ve given myself the task of reading four books a month. Now I thought it seemed doable, one book a week. I was wrong. In setting myself such a goal, I feel like it’s taken the joy out of reading. 

I’m one of those people that loves reading and everything that comes with it. The feels, the excitement for a book release. The community. I am part of a Facebook group that’s 10,000 strong, full of booklovers and I swear to you some are actually friends that I speak to about books regurlarly. 

I will now give up the reading goal and just concentrate on reading for the sake of reading. For this, I need to give myself more down time and I can’t rush anymore. So for now I haven’t read anything for a few days and I feel terrible but I’ll get back up there. I’m actually waiting on my Sarah J Mass haul, because I am joining this bandwagon. Why not right?! 

I thought this midweek post would be a more honest and insightful one. It was for me. I hope it is for you. 

Leave a Reply

