Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige – Review. 

Hi! So this post is going to be a review of a book I just finished. It’s called Stealing Snow and it’s a ‘vague’ retelling of the Snow Queen story. 

Synopsis (as written on Bloomsbury):

Seventeen-year-old Snow lives within the walls of the Whittaker Institute, a high security mental hospital in upstate New York. Deep down, she knows she doesn’t belong there, but she has no memory of life outside, except for the strangest dreams. And then a mysterious, handsome man, an orderly in the hospital, opens a door – and Snow knows that she has to leave … 

She finds herself in icy Algid, her true home, with witches, thieves, and a strangely alluring boy named Kai. As secret after secret is revealed, Snow discovers that she is on the run from a royal lineage she’s destined to inherit, a father more powerful and ruthless than she could have imagined, and choices of the heart that could change everything. Heroine or villain, queen or broken girl, frozen heart or true love, Snow must choose her fate. 

Review: 2.75/5 Stars. 

I read this because I love fairytale retellings. Especially Hans Christian Andersen stories. As is the Snow Queen. 

So there’s Snow who has grown up in a mental institution. It’s all dark and twisted and what I thought very thoroughly researched. 

She has a friend with her that she loves. His name is Bale. Bale loves fire, as you can imagine with patients of a mental institution. 

A lot of things ensue (I will not give the plot away) that cause Snow to end up in the world of Algid. She finds out who she really is and so on. 

I personally do not know how to describe my feelings for this book. It took me ages to finish (two weeks?) it was too slow paced for me. 

Some of the storylines in the book came out of nowhere, they left me dumbfounded. I can’t even say without giving anything away! Sorry! But if you read it, let me know and we can be like,’what the….’ together. 

Also, I’m all for romance in books, in fact I prefer it. It keeps me going during my reading. However this story has, a love square?! Seriously?! Not one boy but three?! She can’t even make up her mind! This is so beyond frustrating because all of the boys (Apart from one in my opinion) are good and they have their own special things about them.  

This is going to be a series!!!! I don’t know if I can handle that story line for another 2+ books!!! Arghhh! So frustrating! 

The story overall is good, lots of magic and witches and evil kings and terrible parents. So I would recommend it if you don’t mind such typical book tropes that exist in every Young Adult fiction novel ever written! 

This is my own opinion of it and although it took a while to read and there were some silly bits, I’d continue with the series. 

Leave a Reply

