The First Book I ever read:

Hi guys! Sorry this is a bit late but I was struggling with what to write about this post. I have a list of posts that I want to publish and be organised. But this one, is quite hard. I remember clearly reading my first book, this was my first “English” book. For the life of me, I cannot remember reading when I was in Greece (I moved here when I was 9 years of age). 

Anyway, I digress. My first book, wasn’t even the first in the series and in its catergory it was its ‘sequel’! It was RL Stine’s Say Cheese and Die… Again! I can’t remember the story at all, I just remember the yellow cover with the really old style camera on the front! 

I also want to mention that I have other books that I read after. They resonated with me and I would consider them one of my first ever reads also. I was 15, parents were getting divorced (it was the fashion back then, everyone’s parents were getting divorced). I picked up JD Salinger’s Catcher In The Rye. This next bit will be cheesy and a little emo but I felt like I was Holden Caufield. I felt like no one understood me (I was also listening to a lot of Nirvana and Pearl Jam – still do! Haha!) I felt everyone around me was a fake and I was real. I was feeling sad and down. I felt like I was the only one in the whole world who felt like this. 

This is where I began my love affair with books, they offered an escape from everyday mundanities. I would be able to travel all over the world from the confort of my own seat. I would even go as far to say that I even questioned my own mortality because of the books I was reading! This was when I read Sophie’s World. Again, I know. It is very typical of a 15 year old to feel those things! 

So what’s the first book you ever remember reading and how did it make you feel? 

Until next time bookworms! 

PS: images are not my own, thank you google! 

Leave a Reply

