January Wrap Up – 3 books 

Hello there, so in this blog post I’m writing about the books I’ve read in January. I’ll write a short synopsis and how I felt about the books. 

Ok, let’s start off with:

  • The Girls by Emma Cline. It’s about a girl during the 1960s. She is bored and roams around for some excitement in her life. She becomes fascinated by this group of girls who are ‘outsiders’. She becomes friends with them and then the story unfolds. 

I honestly don’t know what to say about this book, the writing was so beautiful. So atmospheric. Yet the story failed for me. On so many levels. The story is unoriginal (it reminded me of the Charles Manson story, as it did for many people). Nothing really happens in the book. It is emotive, I definitely got that. Otherwise, it really isn’t something to write about or talk about. I’d give it 3 out of 5 stars. 

  • The Diabolic by SJ Kincaid. It’s about a humanoid, their only function is to live and die for one person.

What can I say about this book that I’ve not said in my review? I loved it. It has a strong female protagonist. It has betrayal. Love. Battles. Empires and this is all set in SPACE! What more could I ask for? 4 out of 5 stars. Because nothing is perfect. 

  • The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson. It’s about a 17 year old girl who had her life all set for her. Her dad is a politician who’s running for office. She’ll be spending her summer at anyoung doctors institute getting ready for college. Then scandal strikes! Her dad is made to remove himself from office until there’s an investigation and her acceptance to the inistitute is revoked. So she has nothing left to look forward to for the first time in years. 

First of all with this book, the character reads a lot older than her 17 years. This is kind of jarring because it can be confusing when she’s referring to her past. Secondly, there are dogs. Dogs are everywhere in this book, I loved this part. They were characters all of their own! And there is also a boy called Clark who writes fantasy books. He’s geektastic! I obviously do not need to say more…. 3 out of 5 stars. This is because it was quite slow paced for its 500+ pages. 

Leave a Reply

